Home > Western Australia > Southern suburbs students take out prestigious Beazley Medals

Southern suburbs students take out prestigious Beazley Medals

Two female public school students have taken out the State’s two top awards for their outstanding achievements in Year 12.

Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery presented the winners of the 2017 Beazley Medals with their medals in a ceremony at Kings Park this morning.

The Minister was joined by the Hon Kim Beazley AC, a former Deputy Prime Minister and son of the late Kim Edward Beazley. Mr Beazley Senior, after who the medals are named, was a teacher and former Federal Minister for Education.

Rossmoyne Senior High School’s Isabel Longbottom won the Beazley Medal: Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) for the highest examination marks of any student across five ATAR (Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank) courses in Year 12.

Isabel also won a General Exhibition; Subject Exhibition: Physics; and a Certificate of Excellence in Chemistry, Literature, Mathematics Specialist and Physics; and a Certificate of Distinction.

Willetton Senior High School’s Andreea Ioan won the Beazley Medal: Vocational Education and Training (VET) for the most outstanding performance in vocational education and training studies in Year 12.

Andreea has completed a Certificate III and IV in Fitness and achieved a VET Exhibition and VET Certificate of Excellence in Sport, Recreation and Public Safety.

A record 4,477 students have won a range of academic and vocational awards in the annual School Curriculum and Standards Authority awards which recognise outstanding achievement.

A total of 50 students received General Exhibitions for the highest scores in ATAR examinations.

Thirteen Perth Modern School students received General Exhibitions and its students won seven Subject Exhibitions. St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls and Christ Church Grammar school followed with six students from each receiving General Exhibitions.

All students will be presented with their awards at a formal ceremony at Government House in February 2018.

The Beazley Medal was first presented in 1984.