Home > Sport & Recreation > Sport and Recreation Industry Awards nominations open

Sport and Recreation Industry Awards nominations open

The search is on for the State’s best sport and recreation programs, with a call for entries in the 2018 Sport and Recreation Industry Awards.

Honouring Western Australia’s best in sport and recreation, the awards celebrate programs, initiatives and projects that encourage people of all ages to be active and participate in community sport and recreation.

Held every two years, the awards are open to all organisations that provide sport and recreation services and participation opportunities, including sporting associations, local governments and commercial organisations.

Entries can be submitted in the following categories:

  1. Organisational Excellence Award;
  2. Commitment to Participation Award;
  3. Places and Spaces: Planning and Design Award;
  4. Supporting Volunteers Award;
  5. Regional Excellence Award;
  6. Event of the Year Award (Professional Event and Community Event subcategories);
  7. True Sport Award;
  8. Leadership Award; and
  9. Innovation in Practice Award.

The Minister’s Award for Industry Excellence ($5,000) will be awarded to one of the category winners.

The John Graham Award will once again recognise a person who has contributed exceptional service to the sport and recreation industry over time.

The winners will be announced at the Sport and Recreation Industry Awards’ presentation breakfast at Optus Stadium on Wednesday August 8, 2018.

The awards are supported by the Government of Western Australia, WA Sports Federation, Parks and Leisure Australia (WA), Outdoors WA and LIWA Aquatics.

To submit a nomination, visit http://www.dsr.wa.gov.au/2018industryawards. Applications are open until 9pm on Wednesday June 13, 2018.