Home > National News > Suggestions open for the Victorian federal redistribution

Suggestions open for the Victorian federal redistribution

The AEC today invited members of the public to submit written suggestions about the redistribution of federal electoral divisions in Victoria.

The Chair of the Redistribution Committee for Victoria (the Committee) and Australian Electoral Commissioner, Tom Rogers said recent population and enrolment growth in areas of Victoria would likely see significant changes to existing boundaries.

“The Committee will consider existing boundaries, however the increase in Victoria’s entitlement from 37 to 38 members means there will be consequential boundary changes across the state to ensure all divisions meet strict numerical criteria,” Mr Rogers said.

“In addition to numerical requirements, the Committee will consider communities of interest, means of travel and physical features of proposed divisions.”

Suggestions may refer to the names of electoral divisions, their geographical boundaries or a combination of both these elements.

Submitting a suggestion

  • Online: www.aec.gov.au/vic-redistribution
  • Email: [email protected]
  • In person: Redistribution Committee for Victoria, Australian Electoral Commission, Level 1, Urban Workshop, 50 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne
  • Mail: Redistribution Committee for Victoria, Australian Electoral Commission, GPO Box 768, Melbourne VIC 3001
  • Fax: 02 6293 7664

Suggestions must be received by the committee by 6pm AEDT Friday 17 November

All suggestions received will be made available for public inspection from Monday 20 November. The public will then have until 6pm AEDT on Friday 1 December 2017 to lodge written comments on suggestions.